Department of Mechanical Engineering alumna Preeti Chauhan (MS/PhD ’12) has been named the 2017 Early Career Award recipient by the A. James Clark School of Engineering. This award honors a Clark School alumnus or alumna who has achieved meritorious contributions and significant rapid advancement in the early stages of their career. Chauhan was chosen based on a wide range of criteria, including “extraordinary spirit and enthusiasm in promoting the Clark School.”

Since graduating in 2012, Chauhan has served in different capacities at the Intel Corporation in Tempe, Ariz. Currently she is a Quality and Reliability Program Manager in the Assembly Test and Technology Development division at Intel Corporation. Her job role comprises of providing technical leadership to a team of 15 engineers in the area of semiconductor packaging to drive quality and reliability certification of Intel’s XEON server microprocessors. While at the University of Maryland, her research focus was on reliability of solder joints and areas of copper wire bonding and prognostics and health management of electronics.

In 2017, Chauhan was awarded her division’s excellence award, the highest recognition in the business group, for her contributions to next generation test processes.

Chauhan has authored a book on copper wire bonding, a book chapter on plastic encapsulated devices and over twenty journal and conferences articles. She is a member of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE), the International Microelectronics and Packaging Society (IMPACS), Society of Experimental Mechanics (SEM) and the Surface Mount Technology Association (SMTA). Chauhan also is a reviewer for the journals Microelectronics Reliability and IEEE Transactions of Material Devices Reliability.

Outside of her technical and academic work, Chauhan is a member of Women at Intel (WIN), a collaborative organization that supports women in technical professions. She serves as a mentor for her peers and recent college graduates to help them transition and grow in their fields.

Chauhan’s nomination was supported by Dr. Diganta Das, an Associate Research Scientist in the Department of Mechanical Engineering. With this honor, Chauhan joins other distinguished mechanical engineering alumni who have won awards from the Clark School. Alumnus Alexander F. Mehr won the Early Career award in 2014.

Chauhan was presented with this honor at the 2017 Annual Recognition Dinner Celebrating Philanthropy, Service and Leadership held November 10 in A. James Clark Hall.

Related Articles:
Clark School Honors Distinguished Members of Engineering Community
ME Alumni Awarded Clark School Glenn L. Martin Medal
ME Alumni Alex Mehr Receives Clark School Early Career Award
Alumnus Rakesh Nagi named UIUC department chair
Student Awards, Fellowship Campaign Announced at Reliability Alumni Meeting
ME Grads Enjoy Advantages of Alumni Membership

November 13, 2017

«Previous Story  



Current Headlines

Mechanical Engineering Launches Nanometrology Core Facility

Clark School Honors Distinguished Members of Engineering Community

Mechanical Engineering at ASME IMECE Conference

ME Alumni Awarded Clark School Early Career Award

ME Alumni Awarded Clark School Glenn L. Martin Medal

ME Professors Featured on IBM Business of Government Podcast

UMD Solar Decathlon Team Takes 1st Place in the U.S., 2nd Place in the World

Catalini and Leininger win 2017 GDF-Suez Chuck Edwards Memorial Fellowships

UMD Researchers Work to Mitigate Water Scarcity Crisis with Solar-Powered Devices Made of Wood

Graduate Student Panelist at International Student Event

Back to top  
PIRLS Home Clark School Home UMD Home ENME Home